Melissa_HightonMelissa Highton is Assistant Principal and Director of Learning, Teaching and Web Services (LTW)  at the University of Edinburgh.

Follow her on Twitter @HoneybHighton

LTW provide the University with wide range of technologies and support for innovative learning and teaching, including blended learning tools, bespoke development, online video, open education resources, taught online Masters programmes and Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs). We manage the continuing expansion and diversification of the University website and provide technology services in over 300 teaching rooms across the campus.

Melissa leads services and projects in support of the University’s strategic priorities for digital and distance learning on global platforms, blended learning, virtual learning environments, technology enhanced learning spaces, the digital student experience and use of the web for outreach and engagement.

She has particular interests in digital skills, 21st century curricula, open educational resources, research led teaching and online media.

Melissa is a graduate of the University and has returned to Edinburgh from the University of Oxford where she was Director of Academic IT and Fellow of Kellogg College.

Before Oxford, Melissa worked in technology leadership roles at University of Leeds, Royal Holloway University of London and Edinburgh Napier University.